You are here

Collections Cameo Blog

Collections Cameo Blog
Collections Cameo, April 2017

By Abigail Toohey, LFC '17, Leslie T. Chapman Museum Intern 

When it was a country estate and gentleman farm owned by the A. Watson and Elsa Armour family, Elawa Farm housed an assortment of animals including cattle, chickens, dogs, and horses. This dog kennel registration certificate from 1937 indicates that the Armour family valued man’s best friend, and bred various animals.

In 1884, the American Kennel Club was established in New York City by a group of well-known sportsmen. From its founding it has become the world’s largest purebred canine registry, recognizing over 200 different breeds. The Club continues to advance the maintenance of purebreds and allow owners and breeders alike to register their dogs. It...

Collections Cameo, November 2015

This flyer was mailed out to all Lake Forest residents in the fall of 1990, reminding them that starting on November 1, the number to call for all Lake Forest Emergency Services would be 911. Before that date, people would call the 7-digit number for the police or fire departments.

Use of the number 9-1-1 for emergency calls first began in the U.S. in 1968. Demand for a universal, short emergency number had been building over the previous decade, after the National Association of Fire Chiefs in 1957 recommended establishing a single number for reporting fires. The code “9-1-1” was chosen in part because of brevity and ease of dialing; it was also unique, having never been authorized anywhere as an area code.

The number did not become widely known or adopted across the U.S. until the 1970s. Chicago began using the system in 1976, but according to the Chicago Tribune, “...

Collections Cameo, August 2015

This article, “Lighting a Residential Suburb,” was reprinted from The American City, August, 1930. The author, Neil N. Campbell, served as Lake Forest City Engineer from 1917 to 1948.

With its large lots and tree lined, winding roads, providing adequate street lighting for automobiles and pedestrians was a particularly difficult – but essential – issue for Lake Forest to tackle. By the late 1920s, the problem had become acute.

In his message to the outgoing City Council in April 1929, Mayor Albert B. Dick Jr. said, “Immediately before us is the necessity of guiding transient traffic through Lake Forest quickly and safely...

Collections Cameo, July 2015

This 100-page program documents Lake Bluff’s Fourth of July festivities in 1976 – the Village’s 81st celebration. Because 1976 was also our nation’s Bicentennial, both patriotism and historical commemorations were especially rampant that year.

The program was published by Lake Bluff American Legion Post 510, led by Commander Charles David Maley (Mildred J. Maley was president of the Auxiliary). That year the Lake Bluff Legion was making a concerted effort to gather the names of “all the men and women who entered the service from Knollwood and Lake Bluff in the last three wars” (World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War), and raising money to update the war memorial accordingly. To help with this effort, the Lake Forest-Lake Bluff Kiwanis Club held a Bicentennial Breakfast on July 4 in the Village Green. Suggested donations were $3.00 for adults and $2.00 for...

Collections Cameo, April 2015

By Amber Craghead, Leslie T. Chapman Museum Intern

The Helen Farwell Stevenson collection donated in 2000 by John (“Archie”) Stevenson is composed of loose photographs, letters, newspaper clippings, and scrapbook pages belonging to Helen Farwell Stevenson circa 1918-1919 detailing her experience as a WWI nurse in France. Helen Farwell was born on September 15th, 1895 to Granger Farwell and Sarah Child Goodrich Farwell, both of Chicago. Helen was the last of the couple’s five daughters and the family resided at Knollwood, currently located at 400 N. Washington Rd. in Lake Forest.

...

Pages